top of page
White logo.png

Aviation Medicals

Friendly Young Doctor

The Best Aviation Doctors In The Industry

Do your medical with Zino Aviation

To become a Pilot or Cabin Crew you will need to first pass an aviation medical assessment to make sure you're in good health. This needs to be done prior to starting your training. The medical assessment will assess your medical eligibility.


Zino Aviation, through our partner Aviation Medical Examiners (AME), conduct Class 1, Class 2 and Class 3 aviation medicals for Pilots, Cabin Crew and Engineers seeking medicals. We issue FAA (American), TCCA (Canadian), EASA (European), NCAA (Nigerian) and SACAA (South African) medical certificates.

You will be assessed by a licensed AME and will be issued a Medical Certificate which is required for your training and working commercially.

We also conduct general aviation medical assessments for people who want to know if they are medically eligible to be Pilots, Cabin Crew or Engineers, without having to pay the full amount required for medicals and be limited by Medical Certificate time limits.

Due to current circumstances, we are only conducting medical examinations in Lagos and Port Harcourt, Nigeria at this time.

Anchor 1
FAA 2.png
EASA_Logo 1.png
NCAA 2 PNG.png
SCAA 1.png

Frequently Asked Questions

  • What is a medical certificate? Why do I need one?
    All pilots have to hold a current medical certificate in order to operate an aircraft. Pilot medicals are obtained by going through a medical examination with an AME (Aviation Medical Examiner) to see if you have any obvious, or underlying, medical conditions that could be unsafe. You will be issued a medical on completion of the medical assesment if you meet the medical standards and possess the sufficient health to properly operate an aircraft. You need a medical before you can start your flight training as you will be operating an aircraft.
  • How do I obtain a medical certificate?
    If you are currently in Nigeria, or Ghana, and wish to do an FAA (American), EASA (European), NCAA (Nigerian), SACAA (South African), TCCA (Canadian) or CASA (Australian) medical, then book by pressing the book now button on this page. If you are in any other country, then you must contact an AME (Aviation Medical Examiner) of your choosing, schedule an appointment, complete an official application form, and undergo a physical examination by an AME. If you meet the appropriate medical standards, the AME will issue you a medical certificate.
  • What medical conditions do the FAA or other CAAs consider disqualifying?
    Although mostly standard worldwide, it can vary depending on the CAA issuing your medical certificate as they often have different standards.You should always book a medical appointment with an AME to check you are medically eligible to become a pilot. You might have known or even underlying medical conditions which might prohibit you fro being a commercial pilot. Generally speaking, the following conditions are listed in the regulations as disqualifying medical conditions; HOWEVER, in many cases when the condition is adequately controlled, the authority will issue medical certification contingent on periodic reports: Angina pectoris Bipolar disease Cardiac valve replacement Coronary heart disease that has been treated or, if untreated, that has been symptomatic or clinically significant Diabetes mellitus requiring hypoglycemic medications Disturbance of consciousness without satisfactory explanation of cause Epilepsy Heart replacement Myocardial infarction Permanent cardiac pacemaker Personality disorder that is severe enough to have repeatedly manifested itself by overt acts Psychosis Substance abuse Substance dependence Transient loss of control of nervous system function(s) without satisfactory explanation of cause. Other conditions not specifically listed in the regulations are also disqualifying. For further information refer to the Guide for Aviation Medical Examiners (FAA), or other medical standard documents issued by other CAAs.
  • Can I appeal if my application for medical certification is denied?
    Yes you can. Each CAA has an appeals process. For example, Section 67.409 under 14 CFR sets forth the appeal process within the FAA for applicants who are denied medical certification. Within 30 days after the date of the denial, they may apply for reconsideration.
  • Is it possible to fail a medical?
    Being denied a medical certificate is not very likely. There are usually waivers and special issuance restrictions that are issued to accomodate certain medical conditions. A lot of AMEs are current or former private/commercial pilots and therefore do everything within their powers to assist you to get your medical certicficate and do not want you to fail. While there are conditions that will prevent a person from becoming a pilot, most of them are managable and will simply require a more in-depth exam before receiving a special issuance, waiver or restricted license from the CAA.
  • What do you test in the medical assessment?
    It varies depending on the CAA, but generally you can expect the following: Blood Test (Haemoglobin, Cholesterol, Blood sugar etc) Blood Pressure Urine Test Vision Test (Visual Acuity and Color Blindness) Eye Pressure Measurement Hearing Test Electrocardiogram (EKG) General check up
  • How long is the medical valid for?
    The validity of medical certificates are usually similar globally however can vary epending on what type it is (1st, 2nd or 3rd Class). and also depending on the CAA issuing the medical, as different authorities have varying regulatory requirements. A good example would be FAA medicals: Third-class medicals are valid for five years for people under age 40, and two years otherwise. Second-class medicals are valid for two years for pilots exercising commercial pilot privileges. A second-class medical is valid for five years if under age 40, and two years if over age 40. In this case, the second class medical certificate reverts to third-class medical privileges after the first two years. First-class medicals are valid for one year under age 40, or six months over age 40. A first-class medical can be valid for two years for commercial pilots other than ATPs since the medical certificate privileges revert to second-class privileges.
bottom of page